I've heard so many nasty stories about the dreaded gestational diabetes test. You don't get a shot, you don't have to fast (not for the first time around anyways), and it's pretty pain free. So why does every one despise having to take it? It's all because of that nasty, super sugary, flat, and sometimes warm 4 oz. drink they give you. Most people end up getting the typical Orange flavoring, where as I got the fruit punch. Thankfully, it had been in a refridgerator most of the week so it was cold, and the first few sips weren't too bad. It tasted like normal flat (but still very sweet) fruit punch. Unfortunately, after those first few sips had settled it started to taste worse and worse. I decided to just get it over with and chugged the rest of it. About 20 minutes later I was strongly regretting this decision. I felt like I had a sugar overdose and my head was about to explode!! Luckily it went away after the nurse took my blood for testing, because then all I could think about was the stiffness in my arm. I will probably find out tomorrow or later this week what my results were (crossing my fingers it comes back negative). Either way, I survived it. If for some reason I do have to go back and do the 3 hr test, I know it won't be so bad.
On another positive note, tomorrow I have another ultrasound!!! During my 20wk scan they found some issues with his kidneys as they weren't developing properly. Now 9 weeks later they're going to check them out again to see if they've corrected themselves or if he's going to have to have surgery once he's born. Again, crossing my fingers it comes back all clear. Either way I still get to see my little guy one more time before he's born. I wonder if he'll look similar to how he'll be in another 11 weeks when he's born? The doctor also said that I'm measuring on the smaller side so I hope he's got enough room in there. As of last Saturday morning, I have gained a total of 14 lbs. Seriously, I can't begin to tell you how shocked I was that it wasn't more like 20-25 with how much chocolate I've been craving! Thank you dad once again for my awesome metabolism :D.
I think I just heard the dryer go off, which means it's time to switch another load. I've been such a bum most of the weekend so I suppose it's time to buckle down. I hope everyone is having a great Monday!
No comments:
Post a Comment