The results for my GD test came back a big fat NEGATIVE, WOOHOO!!! The results from my ultrasound came back reporting that BABY IS FINE AND DOESN'T NEED SURGERY!!! I started my first day of my new job on Thursday and IT WENT GREAT!!! Lol, can you tell I'm a little excited? It's been awhile since I've felt this great about how life is going in pretty much all directions. I feel a little less stressed knowing that we're almost caught up (and actually ahead) on our bills and hopefully we'll be able to pay off a few of them once we get the rest of our tax information back so we can file our taxes. It's been a long couple of months battling this, but there seems to be a light at the end of this tunnel.
I also have gotten to spend some much needed time with the girls this past week or so and I love it! Couldn't ask for better preggo friends :). I only wish I was back in MN so that I could spend some time with my very best friend before she leaves for basic training next week. It's going to be hard not talking to her on a regular basis for awhile, but I'm proud of her for going through with this. I remember when I was seriously considering the military this past year. Not gonna lie, really glad that I didn't choose that route. I've found other ways to have a purpose and make a difference, even if it's not as big as saving the world or defending my country from terrorists. Instead, I get to save the day and defend my baby from diaper rash, an empty tummy, and a boring life (because our lives are anything but boring)!
All in all, it's been a great week. I hope the weekend keeps going along with this new trend and happily finds its way into my next week as well. Side note: my flight is booked and I can't wait to come home and see everyone at both my baby shower and Vahna's as well. It's going to be so great to see family and friends again :)
Friday, January 27, 2012
Monday, January 23, 2012
I survived!!!
I've heard so many nasty stories about the dreaded gestational diabetes test. You don't get a shot, you don't have to fast (not for the first time around anyways), and it's pretty pain free. So why does every one despise having to take it? It's all because of that nasty, super sugary, flat, and sometimes warm 4 oz. drink they give you. Most people end up getting the typical Orange flavoring, where as I got the fruit punch. Thankfully, it had been in a refridgerator most of the week so it was cold, and the first few sips weren't too bad. It tasted like normal flat (but still very sweet) fruit punch. Unfortunately, after those first few sips had settled it started to taste worse and worse. I decided to just get it over with and chugged the rest of it. About 20 minutes later I was strongly regretting this decision. I felt like I had a sugar overdose and my head was about to explode!! Luckily it went away after the nurse took my blood for testing, because then all I could think about was the stiffness in my arm. I will probably find out tomorrow or later this week what my results were (crossing my fingers it comes back negative). Either way, I survived it. If for some reason I do have to go back and do the 3 hr test, I know it won't be so bad.
On another positive note, tomorrow I have another ultrasound!!! During my 20wk scan they found some issues with his kidneys as they weren't developing properly. Now 9 weeks later they're going to check them out again to see if they've corrected themselves or if he's going to have to have surgery once he's born. Again, crossing my fingers it comes back all clear. Either way I still get to see my little guy one more time before he's born. I wonder if he'll look similar to how he'll be in another 11 weeks when he's born? The doctor also said that I'm measuring on the smaller side so I hope he's got enough room in there. As of last Saturday morning, I have gained a total of 14 lbs. Seriously, I can't begin to tell you how shocked I was that it wasn't more like 20-25 with how much chocolate I've been craving! Thank you dad once again for my awesome metabolism :D.
I think I just heard the dryer go off, which means it's time to switch another load. I've been such a bum most of the weekend so I suppose it's time to buckle down. I hope everyone is having a great Monday!
On another positive note, tomorrow I have another ultrasound!!! During my 20wk scan they found some issues with his kidneys as they weren't developing properly. Now 9 weeks later they're going to check them out again to see if they've corrected themselves or if he's going to have to have surgery once he's born. Again, crossing my fingers it comes back all clear. Either way I still get to see my little guy one more time before he's born. I wonder if he'll look similar to how he'll be in another 11 weeks when he's born? The doctor also said that I'm measuring on the smaller side so I hope he's got enough room in there. As of last Saturday morning, I have gained a total of 14 lbs. Seriously, I can't begin to tell you how shocked I was that it wasn't more like 20-25 with how much chocolate I've been craving! Thank you dad once again for my awesome metabolism :D.
I think I just heard the dryer go off, which means it's time to switch another load. I've been such a bum most of the weekend so I suppose it's time to buckle down. I hope everyone is having a great Monday!
Friday, January 20, 2012
I'm a big girl now...I think
In a random turn of events this past week, I was called out of the blue by a property manager to come in and interview with her for a leasing agent position. I was recommended to her by the manager of another property who didn't end up hiring me after I had interviewed with him not a week before. Thursday night she called to offer me the position! I was pretty shocked and excited for this great opportunity. Believe it or not, this is my first full time job...EVER! It comes with a great pay, full benefits, cute property, and maternity leave. I feel like such a grown up.
When I step back and take a look at my life I feel a bit overwhelmed. In the last two years I've made so many big changes that I don't exactly know how to process it all. I'm married, moved away from family and friends, starting my first official job, and soon to have my little boy in my arms. They're all great things to have happen. It means that I'm actually growing up and becoming an adult. It also means that I've got that many more things to be stressed and scared crapless about. I don't usually handle change very well, so this much change in such a short time is a little more than I can mentally handle. I know it's normal and I'll get over it soon enough, but until then I feel like I could crawl up into a ball and just wait for it all to pass. Side note: I'm pretty sure my excessive amount of hormones and lack of food is making this all sound a bit more dramatic then it really is, I apologize.
On a more cheerful note, I've made some other "mom" friends who are about the same age as me and at the same points in their lives. It's been great being able to talk to and hang out with other women who care more about the great deal they just scored at Michael's than they do about their kill:death ratio on Call of Duty. Hopefully they're just what I need in order to save my sanity. Crossing my fingers that these friendships will last a long time :)
I suppose it's getting to be passed my bed time, especially since I have to take my glucose test at the doctors tomorrow morning at 8:30. This should be interesting and hopefully not too disgusting. I hope everyone is enjoying their day and rescuing their sanity by any means necessary ;)
When I step back and take a look at my life I feel a bit overwhelmed. In the last two years I've made so many big changes that I don't exactly know how to process it all. I'm married, moved away from family and friends, starting my first official job, and soon to have my little boy in my arms. They're all great things to have happen. It means that I'm actually growing up and becoming an adult. It also means that I've got that many more things to be stressed and scared crapless about. I don't usually handle change very well, so this much change in such a short time is a little more than I can mentally handle. I know it's normal and I'll get over it soon enough, but until then I feel like I could crawl up into a ball and just wait for it all to pass. Side note: I'm pretty sure my excessive amount of hormones and lack of food is making this all sound a bit more dramatic then it really is, I apologize.
On a more cheerful note, I've made some other "mom" friends who are about the same age as me and at the same points in their lives. It's been great being able to talk to and hang out with other women who care more about the great deal they just scored at Michael's than they do about their kill:death ratio on Call of Duty. Hopefully they're just what I need in order to save my sanity. Crossing my fingers that these friendships will last a long time :)
I suppose it's getting to be passed my bed time, especially since I have to take my glucose test at the doctors tomorrow morning at 8:30. This should be interesting and hopefully not too disgusting. I hope everyone is enjoying their day and rescuing their sanity by any means necessary ;)
Monday, January 9, 2012
Little Man
If that doesn't make me nervous, my blind date tomorrow definitely does! I'm meeting up with 3 other women who live in the area and are either due around the same time as me and are also first time moms, or have just had their baby recently. I've never met any of these women before and from what I can tell they're between 24-30 years old, making me the baby of the group. I'm in desperate need these days of some girl/baby talk with other moms, and it'd be nice to start meeting other people out here who are in the same spot in their lives as I am. We're just meeting up for coffee at Starbucks tomorrow morning but it should be fun. I'm nervous and excited and a little hesitant, but I guess I'm never going to make any new friends if I don't step out of my comfort zone every now and again, right? Well, the little man is kicking the crap out of me so I guess that means he wants me to go eat something (typical male). I hope everyone is having a great start to their week! Smile big :D
Thursday, January 5, 2012
Hello, Thursday!
I really must be getting older because time can't seem to slow down long enough for me to catch up. A new year has begun (possibly the last if that one dude was right) and I plan on making the most of it! I've got so much to look forward to and so much that I want to change. I'm going to do whatever I can in order to stick to at least one of my new years resolutions this time around. It's still easier said than done, but here's to hoping. Below are my new years resolutions for 2012:
- Eat healthier (at least 1 fruit and vegetable a day, only eating out once or twice a week, cut soda out of my diet entirely)
- Work out more (do at least one of my fitness DVD's once a week, go on a walk or vigorously walk while shopping once a week)
- Put $5 away out of every pay check in a savings acct for fun money
- Renew my drivers license
- Pay off at least 2 credit cards before May
I only have about 3 more months until my little one is here! I've started putting his nursery together and have begun to stock up on diapers. He is going to completely change my world and test me in ways I can't even begin to imagine. A part of me is so nervous and scared that I'm going to do something wrong and screw something up beyond repair. I'm just hoping that those "maternal instincts" that everyone keeps talking about will kick in ASAP! No matter what happens, I'm excited to finally have him here come April :). I hope everyone had a wonderful New Years and are having a fantastic Thursday!
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)