Monday, November 21, 2011

Waiting for answers

It seems like the moment things start to look up in life, there's always got to be something to knock it back down. Friday afternoon was very rough as life just seemed to take me for a nasty ride. Looking at all of our bills and comparing it to our income, things are being cut a lot closer than I would like for them to. To top it all off, Twilight came out and I had no one to go see it with. It was a bit of a depressing day to say the least.

Saturday then rolls around and I worked another early shift from 4am to noon. After that, Bryan and I decided to hang out with some friends and we all went out to eat at Gunther Tooties before going to the movies (Bryan surprised me and asked if I'd want to go with him to see Breaking Dawn). That was a huge shock and I was excited that my day seemed to be turning around. It of course couldn't last and while we were in the middle of eating I got a phone call from my sister telling me that my mom was in the hospital. She just had surgery on Friday and I was told everything went fine so I was scared that maybe something was overlooked. They ran a multitude of tests and couldn't figure anything out. It's Monday and she's still in the hospital. Things haven't improved or changed much which scares me even more. They're very worried about the condition of her heart and might have to do surgery to put a pacemaker in. I'm falling apart at the seams and it takes everything I have to keep myself from breaking down and crying through out the day. Bryan can't stand to see me hurting like this and is practically pushing me out the door to go fly back to MN and see my mom. Every part of my heart is ready to go, but all my mind can think about is how we should be using that money towards paying bills and be responsible.

The original plan was that I wouldn't see my mom until April for when the baby comes. At this rate, if something were to happen to her before hand, I don't think I could forgive myself for putting bills before her. There would be a ton of positives to going back this weekend. I could see for myself that my mom is ok or at least spend time with her and be there for her, I could see my family for Thanksgiving, I could finally meet and hold my niece/goddaughter Ava, I could see my best friend one last time before she leaves for basic training, and I could compare bellies with my cousin who is due just before I am. There's just so many more positives to me going than not. The kicker is that there's no way that we can afford a last minute plane ticket at $350 or more. Instead, I've found a different way to travel. Hello, Greyhound! They have a military discount that I can use that will bring me to Minneapolis and back for only $209. It'll be a day of travel there and back, but I think it's worth it for the amount that we'll be saving. Wish me luck and safety!

Thursday, November 17, 2011

I'm officially outnumbered!

Well, it's official, Bryan guessed it, the tech confirmed it.....WE'RE HAVING A BOY!!! We couldn't be more excited and thrilled! The tech got some great photos of the baby and reported that all of the measurements showed that he is developing right on track. It's amazing what they can all see just by rubbing a wand covered in goo over my stomach, lol! Seeing him turn and kick and move as I was feeling it was the most incredible thing ever. He officially melted my heart when I got to see his first yawn. I can only imagine how much more I'm going to love him once I finally get to hold him in my arms. With all of that said, here are some of the photos from the ultrasound!


face and arm


foot


profile

Tuesday, November 15, 2011

Can you believe it?!?!

So the coolest thing happened to me on Friday last week......WE FINALLY GOT INTERNET!!!!! Of course we still have to hook up the router so that I can be sitting in bed doing this instead of on the couch in the livingroom, but hey, I'll take it! It beats having to drive ten minutes to the library or Starbucks only to have people look at me funny when I've been there for 3 hours.

This week will be filled with surprises and excitement! First and foremost, we get to find out the sex of our baby tomorrow at 4:45pm. It was the only evening appointment available so that Bryan could be there too. I've decided that even though I can't be with all of our family when we find out that we can still celebrate with the friends that we do have here. I'm thinking about doing the filled cupcakes and having a few people over so that we can all find out at once. It's a bit over done, but I'm still excited for it.

The other big surprise was that my sister and brother-in-law asked me to be Ava's godmother!!! I was quite surprised and hadn't really thought about it since I'm so far away. Either way I was thrilled and of course said yes. Can you believe it? I'm a godmother! Although I know it's not much more than being an aunt, but it makes me excited to think that I'll have this extra connection to her. Hopefully it'll help make the distance not seem so hard.

And of course, the last big excitement for the week is not really a surprise at all. On Friday the first part of Breaking Dawn comes out in theaters!!!!!! Yes, it's true, I'm a twilight fan. I've taken more crap for it in the past week from Bryan than anyone should, but it still won't keep me from going and seeing the movie. I've read the books more than once and of course the movies don't quite measure up, but it's still fun to see how they can bring everything to life. So there it is, my exciting week. Hopefully, I'll be able to post a bit more often now that I'm finally connected to civilization again. Up next will be a preview of my growing belly and some fun pics of the little one! Stay tuned and have a happy Tuesday everyone!

Thursday, November 3, 2011

Where has time gone??

It feels like forever since I've last posted. I know that's no big surprise, but it is just another reminder for myself that I need to slow down and take things one day at a time. For those of you who are keeping track, I'm about 17 weeks and 4 days as of today (Thursday). I have another appointment on the 12th of this month and then I get to schedule my appt. for the gender sonogram!!!! Yay! We're so excited to find out if we're going to be having a little boy or a little girl. I actually just got done starting our Babys R Us registry. It only has a few basics on there at the moment, but hopefully we'll be able to add more to it in a few weeks.

A few weeks ago, Bryan and I flew back to MN for my cousin's wedding. It's been about 2 weeks since I've been home and the homesickness is only getting worse. I can't stand being away from my family, especially now that we're expecting a little one. We both grew up being very close to our family, extended family, and close family friends. Who am I to take that away from my baby? It'll be hard no matter what happens because I really won't be happy living in Kansas the rest of my life, and he won't be happy living in MN for the rest of his. We'll have to come up with some kind of compromise. As of lately the closest I've been able to get is Lincoln, NE. Granted that's only 7 hrs away instead of 15, so if that's the best I can do I'll take it! It's only become more clear now that my sister has finally had her little bundle of joy that the want to be near my family is now more like a need. I want to see my little niece Ava grow up and experience things for the first time. I want her to know who I am when I come to visit. I want my baby to know her cousins and her aunt and uncle and grandparents and all of our family friends that had such a huge hand in raising me when I was little. It just doesn't seem fair that my baby has to miss all of these things just because Bryan wants a job that will pay a few thousand more a year. I'm sorry, but it just doesn't add up when you figure in the higher cost of living on the west coast or in a large city, compared to not getting paid as much and staying in the cheaper mid-west.

If you haven't already guessed it, I'm pretty much over living in Colorado. I mean don't get me wrong, it's a beautiful state and there's plenty to do....if you have the time and the money and the resources (which we pretty much won't have any of the above for quite some time). I can't stand the unpredictable weather! We've had snow already....TWICE! I would rather take the colder MN winters than deal with this crap for 6 months. Well I suppose, that's enough ranting for now. I hope that everyone had a safe and happy halloween this past Monday, and I can't wait to see everyone again soon. Love and miss you all!